15 Bean Soup

Hey Guys! I have been doing a ton of cooking lately and I wanted to share my 15 bean soup because I had so many inquiries about it.

We had a left over ham bone from Christmas and Dan wanted to make a pea soup. I am not a huge fan so I asked if I could make bean and ham instead.

Now, you guys know I don’t love to cook but when I do it’s easy and quick. I was also talking to Dan today about teaching Danny how to make the most food for his buck. Danny is living on a limited budget so we really should teach him what to cook that will cost little, make a lot and fill him.

 

bean

Like this bean soup.

So, I went to the store and bought a bag of bean soup. It was in the beans aisle and there were many kinds. I grabbed the 15 bean soup in a plastic bag for about $3.00.

Soak the beans in a pot over night and let them soften. Drain and then add 2 quarts of water over the beans ( I threw in the ham bone and boiled it with the beans for flavor. I had already cut off most of the meat I was adding to the soup)

ham

I cooked the beans and the ham for about 2 hours. I removed the ham and threw it out. The I blended the beans in a blender in batches to make it a smooth puree.

I put it all back in the pot and I simply added chili powder, pepper, the ham flavoring that comes with the soup and I added some liquid smoke that I had from ribs I made this fall and tossed in about 4 cups of cubed ham I had cut from the bone.

It was yummy and flavorful. It made a thick, brown, hearty soup.

beenz

There is a recipe on the back of the package that you can follow but I wasn’t feeling it.

This made a huge pot of soup that was healthy, filling and cost effective.  You can add any flavors you want and play with seasonings.

I reheated some tonight after the gym and it was super yummy. It’s low in fat and high in fiber.

So, if you are looking for an easy, filling, cheap and healthy winter meal. Here you go!

Tomorrow Cheesy Buckwheat with baby spinach, mushrooms and bacon.

 

This entry was posted in bargains, cooking, health, recipes, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

