Cheesy Buckwheat with spinach and mushroom

Happy Monday, Guys!

Monday

I am always looking for new recipes and I love grains. I found a Cooking Light magazine that featured several different types of grains.

I found one for Buckwheat that sounded really good.

Buckwheat

But, what the heck is Buckwheat? It is earthy and pairs well with smoky flavors. It tends to clump when boiled in water. To keep it fluffy, bean an egg into the grain to coat and toast in a pan until dry, then add your liquid to boil.

I found the Buckwheat at my local Natural Food Store. I found some Buckwheat Cereal at Shaws but I didn’t think it was the same and it was $7.99 so I didn’t want to chance it. It wasn’t the same.

Cheesy Buckwheat with spinach and mushrooms

 

Combine 1 cup of uncooked buckwheat and 1 lightly beaten egg in a bowl and toss until all is coated.

Heat a saucepan over medium heat and add the buckwheat mixture to the pan. Cook 3 minutes or until grains become dry and seperate, stir frequently.

Stir in 1 1/2 cups of water ( you could substitute a broth for more flavor. I might next time) and cover and bring to a boil. Simmer until liquid is absorbed (about 15 minutes)

Remove from heat and stir in 2 ounces of Gruyere cheese and 2 Tablespoons of Parmesan cheese.

In another pan, cook bacon slices (as many as you like). Drain some of the bacon fat but leaving a little to cook 1/2 cup diced onion, 1 garlic clove and mushrooms. Add as many or little as you’d like of each ingredient.

When everything has been cooked tender add 6 cups (more or less) and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper and cook until wilted.

Add the spinach mixture to the buckwheat mixture and sprinkle walnuts over the mixture.

I made this as a meal to bring in for lunch to work. You could make it as a side dish but it is a meal in itself. It was flavorful and nutty and very savory. My kind of dish.

I would play with adding beef or vegetable broth instead of water to give it more flavor. I might try olives, feta cheese and capers next time for a more Medeterainian flavor.

The buckwheat is so versatile you can really add whatever you like. I left portion sizes up to you so you can adjust to your taste. Love spinach add more. I don’t love mushrooms so I just added a few for an earthy flavor.

I found it very satisfying and filling.

This entry was posted in cooking, eating, health, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

