Gluten Free tortilla shells recipe

Hey Everyone:

Hope you all had a fabulous weekend!

I was a  food shopping and cooking machine this weekend. I wanted to try and make my own gluten free tortilla shells and I needed arrow root powder to make them. Do you think I could find this anywhere?

 arrow root

My health food store, that I love, was out of it and none of the major supermarkets carry it. I finally found it at another health food store on Sunday! Whew!

I had found a recipe for torts and I started off Sunday morning making these.

 crepe

Fail!

The crepes were very eggy (6 eggs) and they fell apart and ripped when I tried to flip them over.

Now in fairness, I messed up the ingredient amounts. I confused 2 ingredients and then tried to correct it. The pan I was using also may not have helped. I needed to use a nonstick pan, but ours are all old and the bottom is scraped off.

I wound up throwing out my whole first batch!

I found another recipe that seemed easy so I tried that one later in the day.

Win!

 perfect

My torts came out beautiful. The flipped easily and were not as eggy tasting. They were perfect. I made enchiladas with them and they were delish. I would have fried them in olive oil next time instead of coconut oil as they tasted  a bit coconutty but still really good.

 

They were thin but held up really well as a shell. I would definitely make again and freeze some so I can just pull out anytime.

Here is the recipe from stupideasypaleo.com

 2 eggs

1 teaspoon of melted coconut oil

1 Tablespoon water

¼ cup of arrow root powder

1 teaspoon of coconut flour

·         If making for a sweet recipe, add ¼ teaspoon of vanilla

1.       Crack eggs in a bowl and whisk in oil and water

2.       Add in dry ingredients

3.       In a small skillet over medium heat, pour in about 1/3 of the batter and roll it around the pan so the whole bottom of the pan is covered.

4.       Cook for one minute on each side or until you see the edges start to lift.

5.       Stuff with whatever fillings you’d  like

6.       If saving for later, cool completely and store in a plastic bag or airtight glass container.

 Sweet Filling ideas

 *Brown sugar, bananas and Nutella

*Strawberries and cream cheese

*Add some cocoa powder to the crepes and make chocolate crepes

* whipped cream with any fruit you like

Savory Filling ideas

*Peppers, onions and cheese. Cover with Enchilada sauce

*Chicken, mushrooms, scallions. Cover with a sherry white sauce

*Fajitas – Peppers, onions, tomatoes, salsa, cheese

*Scrambled eggs and cheese

These shells were really easy, yummy and firm. They could hold any number of delicious combinations. 

Give them a try!

This entry was posted in cooking, eating, health, recipes, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

