Making better food decisions

Hey Everyone:

How is your week going? Almost over already!

 So, I sent my food journal to Steve last night and he said it looked good but I need to plan to make sure I keep on a good path, especially when temptations come up.

Monday
KIND Bar
Orange
Home made enchilada with gluten free torts (home made)
Nuts with dark chocolate
hot chocolate w/whipped cream
1 stuffed poblano pepper
Tapioca – low sugar
choc covered almonds
Tuesday
½ omelet with veggies and cheese
Pineapples
Indv bag of pistachios
½ cup of ham and bean soup (home made)
Orange
1 cup of protein shake
 
Home made enchilada
Wednesday
Ezekial English muffin with devil ham
salad with chicken salad on top
tapioca- low sugar
handful of mixed nuts
taco salad

Even though I told him I know that, it did get me thinking. I have am going out to dinner with a friend tomorrow night and have a dinner party Saturday night.

 I notoriously over eat at these dinner parties. I stuff myself with appetizers first and then have a full meal, only to finish it off with desert. Understanding , I usually don’t eat appetizers or desert, but I go hog wild at these dinner parties for some reason. I don’t drink at them, but I have consumed so many calories it doesn’t really matter.

 I know I am going to Ruby Tuesday’s on Friday night so I looked at the menu already and decided I should probably get the Hickory Bourbon Chicken at 355 calories. I don’t really want it but that is one of the few items on the menu under 700 calories that I will eat. I am thinking that if I am going to splurge on Saturday then I need to make choices on Friday. If that means eating the lower calorie chicken and vegetables, then that is what I have to do. That’s the smart choice.

 Hickory Bourbon Chicken w/ Grilled Zucchini

At the dinner party on Saturday, I can’t eat everything in sight either. I need to leave the appetizers and just eat the meal. If I like the desert I will have a small piece. If not, I won’t have any. I am not a sweet eater so why do I eat it if I don’t even care about it? I need to be mindful to eat foods that I do care about and leave the ones that I don’t.

I have been  trying to eat carbs at only one meal, if I can, and make sure they are the good carbs like brown rice or spelt flour. If Dan has tacos, I have a taco salad.

 

I have not been drinking at all either. Man, I have to say I am sleeping sooooo well. I am drinking tea at night with my Melatonin and Valerian Root supplements and I have been sleeping great!  The wine put me to sleep but had me wide awake early in the morning and awake for hours! I still wake up but I fall right back to sleep.

 

So, I am feeling really good eating well, not drinking and sleeping soundly. I have been doing at home exercise that Steve gave me to do and while I struggle to motivate myself to do them, I have been. For me, if I tell someone I am going to do something I do it. Plus, he is having me text him when I do so I kind of have to. HAHA. Whatever works, right

I an do really well when I get in the right mindset. I have been cooking my own foods and bringing them religiously to work and eating them.

I have also been watching my portion sizes and doing the at home exercises Steve gave me to do.

So, wish me well this weekend. I have planned and prepared and I feel good about the eating choices to come!

This entry was posted in attitude, cooking, eating, Fitness, food journal, friends, health, Nutritional coaching, weekend, women over 40, working out and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

