Why I am proud to be a Warrior

I am the Face Book Quiz Queen. Any quiz that I see I take, I don’t care what it is.

*What kind of Lover am I

* What should be my hippie name

* What kind of house should I live in

* What’s my old lady name

  How To Get Rid Of Annoying Facebook Quizzes: Making Facebook More Productive.

I love these things! They are mindless and they are fun. Often times, I feel like they peg me accurately. I get “ I am mysterious” a lot and I can see that.

This past week I took a quiz to see what I was in my past life.

I answered questions about how I saw myself and what groups of people I wanted to help. What is important to me and how I would describe my good and bad traits.

What did I get?

Drumroll, please!!!!!

I got a Warrior!

And as stupid as this sounds, I was so proud I got a Warrior!

To me, a Warrior is a survivor. They are strong, fearless and brave. A Warrior doesn’t back down no matter if they think they will succeed with their mission or not. They believe in the cause and they forge ahead anyway with faith.

As a younger girl and I use the word “girl” for a reason, I would have wanted to be a Queen.

1.   https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSCHyYyh-dvHZM0zOQwFXdIaET7NnZpy6us26hlbtUavYu1g_LP4g

The thought of having servants or minions waiting on me hand and foot for my every whim was appealing. Back then I would have been proud to not have to lift a finger, have people do everything for me and not have to get my hands dirty. I would have loved having a crown with a pretty dress and standing perfect.

The thought of all those Queen-like behaviors makes me shudder now. That is so not me!

I can envision myself with my crazy curly hair loose and wild, my body protected with a metal bra plate, bare strong abs and boy shorts carrying a weapon ready to defend the innocent.  I am strong, brave and  focused on the task at hand and although I may fail, I will die trying. I will die with honor and respect and my name will be spoken by people in awe of my bravery.

https://bkhemphill.files.wordpress.com/2014/07/xena-a-friend-in-need-season-6-xena-warrior-princess-1213249_967_1200.jpg

I am fierce and people both fear and respect me.

 Yeah! I want to be fierce and respected, but for my fearless nature, not because I am using fear to rule or manipulate people.

 Forget about wanting to be a warrior in my past, I want be one now!

 What would that look like today?

Here are some of the qualities I think a Modern day Warrior should have:

1.       Humble: A warrior admits his/her mistakes and takes action to correct them.

2.       Doesn’t judge: A warrior realizes everyone is different and our differences are what make us unique, not weird.  Everyone has different, useful skills and a warrior knows how to bring out the best in each one of us.

3.       Respected: A warrior says what they mean and does what they say.

4.       Fearless: A warrior doesn’t necessarily have no fear. They have fear and move ahead with their plans and dreams anyway.

5.       Thinks before they act- A warrior doesn’t react due to anger or sadness. Acting rashly or without thinking can get a warrior killed. They think over their emotions and act when they understand their feelings and have control over them.

6.       Never stops learning:  A warrior knows they do not know everything and are humble enough to realize that. They watch, listen and observe and try to constantly learn and grow from others.

To be a warrior is not a simple matter of wishing to be one. It is rather an endless struggle that will go on to the very last moment of our lives. Nobody is born a warrior, in exactly the same way that nobody is born an average man. We make ourselves into on or the other.” — Powerpressive

This entry was posted in adventures, attitude, Goals, Gratitude, happiness, Life purpose, women over 40 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

