Back to the Gym

Hey, Hope your weekend was a good one!

After several months of only getting to the gym once a week for Spin, I am excited to say, that I have been getting back. I went to Centergy on Friday at 5:30.

What is it?

It’s a combination of Yoga and Pilates. I used to go sporadically on Friday evenings. They darken the room, turn up the heat and play  soothing music  for 45 minutes as you stretch and strengthen.

 

I have to say it’s a wonderful end of the week class to take. After a stressful week it’s so soothing to relax your body and mind and just let the week go.

There is also another Centergy class on Sunday mornings at 10:30. I had not been to this one before so this weekend I decided to check it out.

I arrived early (as always) and got my spot. This wasn’t easy as I noticed that Sunday’s class was jam packed! We were wall to wall mats and everyone was talking and socializing before it started. There was a noticeable change in energy from Friday night’s class to Sunday morning class.

 

I had a hard time getting to the Sunday morning class even though it was at 10:30, but I was happy I went once it was over. It was another great way to get up and get your day going. I really enjoy all of the instructors at Global Fitness. I have been to several gyms over the years and they do have some of the best. The energy level is great and nothing is too complicated so you can follow it no problem.

 

After I worked out I went food shopping for my third and final week of my 21 day detox.  I have been doing pretty well, I admit to a few small cheats, but nothing outrageous. I am honestly not sure this “detox” did much for me. I have lost a few pounds so far, but I would just cutting down and watching what I eat anyway.  I’ll stick out the next week but I think I will be incorporating back in dairy and carbs just on a smaller scale.

Last night I had Dan make a shrimp stir fry so I could take that to work with me for lunches. I cut up a ton of veggies, so many that Dan said he didn’t have a pan big enough to cook them all! Anyway, it’s a really healthy meal and instead of going back for seconds like I normally would, I just ate my one bowl and called it a night.  In the past, I would have gotten seconds thinking “it’s only shrimp and vegetables”.

Here is one of my cheats came in. I was dying for something sweet so I pulled out the dark chocolate covered almonds. Instead of eating a handful of them, I had two.

I also pulled chicken drumsticks out of the freezer and baked them with a  little buffalo sauce. For lunch today I brought one along with a salad with some vegetables and a salad dressing I made from a  recipe I found. Again, in the past I would have eaten two big drumsticks and the salad. One was plenty!

I am learning that I don’t have to feel full in order for it to be “enough”. My mindset used to be if I can eat more, I am still hungry.  That isn’t so. I have read that you are supposed to feel like you could still eat a little. I need to learn when I am truly hungry. Just because I am not stuffed doesn’t mean I am hungry.

I have heard of the apple test to determine if you are hungry or are having a craving.

 Do the apple test! You will know if you are actually hungry or not.

 Ask yourself would you still want this snack if it were only an apple (or some other fruit or vegetable that you like but are not tempted to overeat).

  • If the answer is yes, why not go for that apple (or other fruit or vegetable) to truly nourish that physical hunger?
  • If the answer is no, then the hunger/craving you are experiencing is probably not a physical hunger in your stomach, but instead an emotional hunger.
  • Instead of reaching for the snack, this might be a good time to take a walk or take a 10 minute break and reflect on what it is that mind truly hungers for. Maybe you need more time with people who love you, more sleep at night, or to do something rewarding to fill your time like volunteering or adopting a pet.

 

I don’t know why this was such a hard lesson for me to learn but I am getting it!

This entry was posted in cooking, eating, Fitness, fun, Goals, health, motivation, weekend, weight loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

