15 minute healthy Peanut Butter cups

  

Hey, hey! It’s almost Friday!

Yesterday I was having a serious craving for chocolate and peanut butter. I am not a huge sweet eater but I love the combination of the two together. Seeing as I am still on the detox diet until Saturday this would be a “cheat.”

 I dug around for a recipe online from Fit Foodie for healthy peanut butter cups and this is what I found. I happened to have all the ingredients at home so that was defintely a bonus.  There weren’t many ingredients and it said the whole cooking time was 15 minutes.

 

Whoo Hoo, I got cooking.

I did modify the recipe a smidgeon by using maple syrup instead of stevia and I added sea salt to the tops.

Ingredients

Bottom Layer

2 Tbsp coconut oil, melted

1/4 cup smooth peanut butter (all-natural)

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 Tbsp of maple syrup

Top Layer

2 Tbsp coconut oil, melted

1/4 cup natural smooth peanut butter

1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Optional: Sea salt to sprinkle on top

Instructions

Line a mini muffin tray with 12 cupcake lines (I used the reusable kind).

  • Stir all ingredients for the bottom layer together until smooth ( you may have to melt the coconut oil and peanut butter for 20 seconds to get them to mix well) and divide between the wells (each should be about half full).
  • Put the tray in the freezer on a flat surface and freeze until solid (It took mine about 10 minutes).
  • Meanwhile, stir all ingredients together for the top layer until smooth (again, you may have to heat the coconut oil and peanut butter for 20 seconds to get them to mix well) and divide on top of the set chocolate mixture.
  • Return to the freezer and freeze until solid (it took me an additional 10 minutes). Store the treats in the freezer.

 Nutrition information: 105 calories | 10.1g fat |3.3g carbs/2.9g protein

My recipe only made 4 cups. I used the silicone reusable and I didn’t think I filled them that much. It’s actually fine because I really didn’t want too many. The more I have, the more I will eat.

 The results?

 Not bad. I made them with very little sugar so there was just a hint of sweetness to them. I could taste the coconut oil in them so I might make them with butter or some other oil next time. The coconut oil isn’t horrible, I am just not a huge fan of coconut.

I loved the crunch of the sea salt on them and I could really bite into them. I brought Steve in two and his verdict was that you can tell they are “healthy” but he liked them.

My verdict: I would make them again, for sure. They were easy peasy with just a few ingredients needed that I already usually have in the house. They weren’t sickening sweet, although you can make them so if you choose, and I didn’t feel badly eating just one. You do need to keep them in the freezer. I had left one out to photograph it later and it melted it my hands.

This definitely satisfied my craving for chocolate and peanut butter without breaking the calorie bank.

This entry was posted in cooking, eating, health, recipes, snacks, weight loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

