End of Detox and almond butter pancakes

How was your weekend? Mine flew by so fast!

My detox ended on Saturday and that coincided with a dinner party we had that night. I usually waaaaay over eat at these and stuff myself so much I can’t sleep because my belly can’t digest all the food.

I really want to change how I eat so I made a plan before I went to the party and I stuck with it! I was so proud of myself for not over eating anything and left feeling great.

Sunday was a day of cooking. I had so many recipes that I wanted to try so I got up early and started cooking right away.

First up, were almond butter “pancakes”. I have blogged about these before but I am going to post the recipe again since I had so many inquiries. It has just a few ingredients, is fairly healthy and you can vary them in so many ways.

I won’t lie though, they aren’t fluffy like a pancake. They are most like a soft cookie. However, it does do the trick if you are jonesing for pancakes and don’t want to have the yummy, but more fattening kind.

I found the recipe on http://www.detoxinista.com many years ago and have made them many times. You can pre-make them and then freeze them. Just pop them in a toaster or even nuke them for a few seconds and they are yummy.

Here is the recipe

Almond Flour Pancakes

1/2 cup of almond butter

1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla

1/2 teaspoon of Cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper, if you plan on baking these. (My preferred method!)

In a medium bowl, combine all of the ingredients and mix until a smooth, uniform batter is created.

Scoop the batter using a 1/4 cup onto the lined baking sheet, to form 7-8 pancakes. You will probably need two lined baking sheets, if you’d like to bake these all at once.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the pancakes are fluffy and golden. This is my preferred method, since you don’t need to use any extra oil for frying, and you can cook all the pancakes at once without even flipping them!

Note: Parchment paper is key for baking these. Even a Silpat doesn’t yield the same results as using parchment paper.

I wanted to top these with something different so I took 2 bananas and threw them into a hot pan coated with coconut oil.

Note: The bananas should sizzle when you put them in the frying pan or the banana will soak up the oil and become mushy.

I fried on each side until they became a golden brown and then I took them out of the pan. I added about a 1/2 cup of maple syrup to the pan and just a dash of rum extract and cooked down into a syrup. I tossed in some pecans and voila. I had my topping.

They were delicious!

I haven’t made a dish in so long that was as yummy and satisfying. It was a bit sweet, but not too sweet, and honest to god, it was like a breakfast I would order out.

Now, like anything else these are a treat. I won’t be eating them everyday like I could. I made a huge batch, I even swapped out peanut butter for the almond butter for some (yum) and I added frozen cranberries and nuts to some of my cakes. In the past, I have thrown in chocolate chips and berries.

So easy to mix and match.

I went on to make a delicious lemon, ricotta, spinach and pasta dish and a shrimp creole.

Stay tuned over the next few days and I will post those recipes.

To. Die. For….

 

This entry was posted in attitude, cooking, eating, friends, fun, health, recipes, weekend, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

