Shrimp Creole recipe

Hey Ladies:

 

How is your week going so far? Almost Wednesday already!

 I ate my frozen almond butter pancakes this morning for breakfast and they were yummy! I was going to toast them to reheat, but I spaced and poured my leftover bananas, pecans and maple syrup & coconut oil over them without thinking. I had to microwave them instead and I was afraid the syrup would just make them a soggy pile.

 Not so!

 The syrup did soak in but it made them incredible tasting. OMG, I liked them almost as much as when I made them fresh on Sunday.

 I only had 2 pancakes ( in keeping with my lower portions) and I had 6 strawberries cut up about an hour and a half later.

 On Sunday I also made a shrimp creole in the crock pot from a recipe I got off Face Book. It looked super easy and healthy so I was dying to give it a go. It only took about 4 hours and it was spicy and rich. Dan had it served over rice while I ate it more like a gumbo.

 

I brought in a dish of it today for lunch and the flavors blended and it was even better after a few days!

Shrimp Creole in the Crock Pot

 1 green pepper

1 red pepper

1 yellow onion

3 celery stalks

1 tsp chili powder

1tsp Cajun seasoning

1 Tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce

2 -14 ounce can of fire roasted tomatoes

1  -8 ounce can of tomatoes sauce

Dash of hot sauce

2 garlic cloves minced

Pound of large shrimp

 In a slow cooker add the first 11 ingredients and stir.

 I gave you measurements but I really added to my taste. I like a little spicier so I added more of the chili and Cajun seasoning. I also wanted more for leftovers so I added in an extra can of roasted tomatoes. So feel free to adjust to your taste.

 I am also a really lazy cook so I bought pre-cut peppers and onions. You could also use frozen if you prefer.

 Let ingredients cook for 3-4 hours in the crock pot.

 With 30 minutes remaining add the shrimp to your mixture.

 You can pour this over rice or choose to eat like a gumbo.

 Either way so easy and healthy!

This entry was posted in cooking, eating, health, recipes, weight loss, women over 40 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

