Almond Flour Banana Bread

Hey Everyone:

The week is trucking along. Cannot wait for Friday!

I had a few bananas that I bought that I thought I would use but never did. They became really, really ripe (ok, black and mushy). I wanted to make a banana bread but I didn’t have all the ingredients so I chucked the bananas in the freezer and I froze them until was ready to use them.

When I took them out and defrosted them they almost “melted” as I unpeeled them! Ugh, looked gross but I figured I’d see how the bread turned out with them.

I followed the below recipe from Allrecipes for an almond flour banana bread and made some of my own modifications in it.

Original recipe makes 8 servings

cooking spray

3eggs, beaten

1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar

3 bananas, mashed

1/4 cup coconut oil, melted

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 cups almond flour

2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Pecans (or other nuts) to taste – Optional

Directions

1.Preheat oven to 300 degrees F. Prepare a bread pan with cooking spray.
2.Mix eggs and vinegar together in a bowl; add bananas, coconut oil, honey, and vanilla extract, pecans and stir until blended.
3.Sift flour, cinnamon, baking powder, nutmeg and salt together in a large bowl; stir into banana mixture until well blended. Pour batter into prepared bread pan.
4.Bake in the preheated oven until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean, about 1 hour. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack.

I just noticed the recipe said to sift the flour. HAHA, I missed that part! Oh well, the bread still came out really good. It is a little dense but it is really moist. Man, I have made banana breads that have come out like a brick. All dry and hard.

Not this baby.

I might like a little more banana flavor. Maybe because they were sooo ripe it lost some flavor, but I would add one more banana.

This bread is really satisfying for me. It’s satisfying and the crunch of the nuts make it for me. The cinnamon and nutmeg paired with the almond flour give it a great earthy flavor. Spread a little butter on it and OMG.

Just had some with a cup of tea at work and it was the best snack! I think I need to cut the loaf in half and freeze or I will eat the whole thing.

Try your version and let me know how you like it. You could add chocolate chips, blueberries or whatever you like for add ins.

This entry was posted in banana bread and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

