Memorial Day Weekend fun

Hey Everyone! Happy Memorial Day. Thank you to all who served to allow us freedom.

My birthday(29th, of course) fell on Saturday and after I worked out in the morning Dan had a surprise planned. We took a road trip out to Deerfield, Ma and he booked dinner at the Farm Table in Bernardston.

Deerfield has a stretch of street that has old, historic homes that you can go in and tour. I love going in them to try and get some ideas for our house.

I take the worst pictures!

Two years ago Dan arranged for me to get time off from work, booked a room at an Inn and made reservations at the The Farm Table for dinner for my Birthday. We have heard so many things about the Farm Table that we were dying to try it. Unfortunately the waiter lost our slip and we waited almost two hours for our meal! It was delicious once we got it but we were so hungry by then we wolfed it down and barely tasted it. They comped the whole meal and the waiter apologized profusely so we both said we wanted to give it another shot.

The place was hopping as there were 2 graduations and a prom that weekend. We got seated at 5:45 in the barn. We had a nice quiet table with 2 leather wing back chairs. So comfortable. Dan ordered the halibut special and I got goat cheese gnocci with pistcahcio pesto and spring vegetables.

Both were delicous but my most favorite part of the meal was the corn bread I ordered. OMG, it was so light and moist and seriously the best I have ever eaten anywhere.

My birthday surprise all around was a hit!

On Sunday, I went down to Marshfield to see my friends Sue and her husband, Steve. It was a gorgeous afternoon and there was an art show going on. I got there at about 10:30 and we headed over.

I actually bought my first Christmas gift of 2015 there! Pam, you’ll have to wait a few months to get it!

Steve Carrell has a General Store there and we went to check it out. It’s a really cute store and it was mobbed! No sightings of him though.

After the fair Sue and Steve took me to lunch at the Fairview Inn over looking the water. Gorgeous views on  beautiful afternoon!

We had a lovely lunch and then Sue and I did our favorite thing. Hit some consignments stores! We went to a few that had a ton of stuff but neither of us bought a thing.

Then we did our next favorite thing- got a frozen yogurt. OMG, this Sweet Frog place was the bomb. I got salted caramel with all sorts of yummy, gooey stuff on top. Delish!!

To top off the visit we hit the beach at about 5:30 or so and took a later afternoon stroll. The water was chilly! Oh my!

It was a really nice visit and I was happy to be able t send time with Steve. I don’t see him often and it was nice that he joined us.  Thanks guys!

On Monday, I was kinda beat but I got up and joined Kent for a 9:15 Spin class with Dory as the teacher. I LOVE this lady, She is fun and energenic and gives a really good class. The rest of the day I just chilled with Dan and Molls. I needed some down time!

The weekend was really fun and well rounded. Time with Dan and friends with lots of food!

Back to work tomorrow.

This entry was posted in adventures, Birthday, friends, fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

