Save time, money and aggravation on your food prep for the week

Hey, hey!

 I was not going to blog about this today but, for seriously like the 10th time in 2 weeks, I had someone comment on my lunch at work.

 In the past I spent too much time on Saturday food shopping so I could get up and cook most of the day Sunday for my upcoming weeks lunches.

 

I had the crockpot pulled out, oven baking, ingredients all over the kitchen and I was there for hours and this was just for lunches for me! Dan buys a salad every day.

About 2 months ago I got sick of all this food prep. I was wasting so much time chopping veggies, cooking and getting ready for the week that I decided I wasn’t doing it anymore.

 

Buying all that food was expensive, I over ate because I brought too much and I was starting to resent it.

What did I do instead?

I bought this $20.00 blender at Target and I make a protein shake for lunch now.

 

I bring in eggs almost every day for breakfast with veggies from leftovers ( grilled peppers, broccoli and garlic, sautéed onions and peppers) and I have a shake for lunch.

 I bring in almond milk and I have chocolate protein powder at work and I throw in all sorts of different combinations.

 Sometimes I add:

 almond butter with mint extract and ice (my favorite)

Peanut butter and frozen bananas

Rum extract

Frozen fruit and chia seeds

 If you look on the internet you can find a million different variations for shakes.

This little blender has saved me hours in the kitchen, money on groceries and calories. It is honestly not that noisy ( I ask everyone this) and it blends the ice really well.

 

Now, if you are like me and like to chew your food I bring in just a little bit of protein to have along with my shake.  I will bring a few slices of a rotisserie chicken, meat from last night’s left overs or even a small bag of nuts.  I make sure I portion it out, but it’s just enough for me to feel like I have chewed something.

When I make this in our little kitchenette at work I get more people saying what a great idea this is and they are gonna buy a blender too. I think I should start selling protein shakes at work! What do ya think?

 

Now that it is warm out my co-worker and I walk at lunch. Sometimes it is scorching hot and I come back from the walk sweaty and overheated. A cold shake is a great meal to have after a warm walk.

I have been asked many times if the shake fills me and it really does especially with that little extra protein I add.  It’s low in calories because almond milk is 30 calories, protein shake is 100 and whatever the almond butter is. So maybe 250 calories tops in the shake?

About 2 hours later I have a healthy snack like carrots and hummus.

 

The blender has really saved me so much time, money and aggravation.

I have my weekends back!

This entry was posted in eating, Food prep, planning, preparing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

