Block Island Organics Sunscreen review

Hey Guys!

What a beautiful weekend. Hope you all had a lovely weekend.

 

 Molly had fun!

Kelly, the co- founder of Block Island Organics asked me if I would be willing to try their new Natural Mineral (zinc only) SPF 30 sunblock.  All of their products are free of  parabens, sulfates, petrochemicals, phthalates, dyes and artificial fragrances.

 From the Block island organic web-site here is the description of the sunscreen:

 Natural Mineral Sunscreen SPF 30 - 3.4 fl oz - Made with Organic and Natural Ingredients

“An ultra-lightweight, non-nano and instantly absorbing natural mineral sunscreen great for sensitive skin.  Made with organic and natural ingredients. Provides broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection to prevent sun damage and premature skin aging. A small amount goes a long way. 

Key facts: zinc only (safest & best UV filter), easily spreadable and lightweight yet moisturizing

Perfect for BABIES, KIDS and ADULTS – 3.4oz/100 ml

NO PARABENS, SULFATES, PETROCHEMICALS, PHTHALATES, DYES OR ARTIFICIAL FRAGRANCES. VEGAN FORMULA. GLUTEN FREE. NO ANIMAL TESTING. MADE IN USA. “

They also do not do animal testing and use vegan-based formulas.

You all know I love to bake in the sun in the summer so I jumped at the opportunity to try an organic sunscreen.

On Saturday after I worked out with a friend I threw on my bikini, grabbed a book and Molly and set up outside in the sun.

I have a habit of over doing and I squeezed out a boatload of sunscreen in my hand. I slathered it first on my legs and my legs turned white like Casper. I rubbed and rubbed and although it sunk in more I still had strips of white on me that I couldn’t seem to rub in all the way. No doubt this was due to the zinc. Remember how lifeguards used to have white noses?  It was kind of a thicker lotion and I realized quickly less is more, which is good. The bottle will last longer that way.

Here is a picture of my arm when I first applied it. A little white.

 

A picture of my arm after two hours in the sun.  It didn’t sink in much more.

 

One thing I noticed right away was that the sunscreen didn’t make me smell like a Pina colada like many do. We have many bugs due to the water and land that surround our house so I was happy this didn’t have a sickening sweet smell that attracted the bugs to me. The smell was pretty neutral.

I sat outside in the sun for about two hours on Saturday. During those two hours I sweated and sprayed water on me to cool off. The thicker lotion didn’t run or come off. I didn’t have to reapply the lotion at all and when I sprayed my face it didn’t run in my eyes.

I did get a nice brown color to my skin, but I did not burn. I always burn at first and then turn brown, but this time I didn’t look like a lobster first.

I did feel like I had to take a shower to get it off me before I put my clothes back on and went about my evening.

I decided to give the Block island Sunscreen another try on Sunday.

Sunday afternoon, I set up my beach chair and grabbed the lotion. This time, however, I started with just a little bit. This time the lotion went on much smoother and didn’t leave as much of the white streaks on me like Saturday did.

 

Aha, I got the secret… Start small and add as necessary! Got it.. Actually, the directions tell you that, but they it may need to be a little bolder.

Even with just the little bit of lotion I didn’t feel the need to reapply. Ok, I didn’t swim with it on but I did have to give it a little scrub in the shower to remove it completely.  If I had to scrub in the shower I am pretty sure it wouldn’t just wash off in a lake or ocean.

Over all I thought the Block Island Natural Mineral  SPF 30 Sunblock was a good product. For $17.99 this bottle would last me a summer and then some.

The product allowed me to still tan without burning and I didn’t smell like a cocktail with an umbrella that attracts bugs.

 

My only concern would be that white residue the lotion leaves but if you start with just a little bit and work your way up it isn’t that much of an issue. It also means it stays on you more so you don’t have to use as much of it.

 One reason I don’t like to use sunscreen is that I feel I am just rubbing on chemicals to my skin. With this product being organic I don’t feel that way at all. I feel it is a very safe product and that this company has their consumer’s health in mind.

Note: I received this product at no charge for the purposes of review. My review was not influenced in any way by Block Island Organics, nor do I receive any proceeds from sales or affiliate referrals. The views expressed in this post are entirely my own.

This entry was posted in block island organics, sunscreen, tanning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

