Learning to love Spin Class

Hey Guys!

The weekend is fast approaching. Hope your week has been lovely so far!

I know I write about my Spin class quite a bit. I love it, but the truth is, I didn’t always.

I have been taking Spin for about 7 years now, but for the first 5 or even 6 six years, I didn’t enjoy it.  Part of the issue was I wasn’t in good form and I wasn’t getting the most out of my workout. I was probably working harder than I needed to and burning myself out.

 

Here are my top tips for a better form while spinning:

1.       Pull in your abs- I used  to think you didn’t need to engage your core while spinning. Spinning is just legs, right? Wrong! This will help protect your back and stabilize your upper body.

2.       Keep your hips back –  I had a habit of pushing my hips too far over the seat. The teachers tell you that you want to be able to feel the bike seat against your butt. You don’t want your body too far forward over the handlebars. Make sure you don’t have a “death grip” on the handlebars. You should be able to move your fingers as you are spinning.

 

3.       Bouncing- This was my number one problem for years. My buddy, Kent, told me I used to bounce up and down on my bike.  This puts way too much pressure on your joints and is dangerous. I needed to up my resistance so I couldn’t naturally bounce. The more resistance you have the less you are able to move all over the place.  I can see some folks in class bounce and I know they don’t have enough tension on the wheel.  I have since learned that resistance is your friend. Keeping my hips back over the seta more also helped to not bounce. Sometimes I still catch myself bouncing, but now I know what I need to do.

4.       Pushing down, not pulling up on the pedals – When you think of pedaling you think of pushing down, right? You also have to think about pulling up on the pedal. The downward push is natural, but keep in mind to also pull up. Try and kick your butt every time you pull up. Pushing down over taxes your muscles. I have heard this is one disadvantage of not using clip on shoes. Apparently, clip ons help you pull up easier than sneakers do.

 

5.       Listening to the beat and following the cadence of the music –  Our new Spin teacher will say the beat out loud, 1,2 ,1,2 ,1,2 and I have to say her doing this helps me follow the beat of the music.  The folks at BTS pick the songs for each track for a reason. Not using the music will also make your workout inefficient. Music isn’t just to help pass the time, it keeps you working more effectively.

6.       Blowing off the stretch –  I admit, I leave other classes before the stretch, but I never do for Spin. I really work my legs during Spin class and it’s super important to stretch them out at the end of class. The stretching feels awesome and it helps me from feeling stiff and sore the next day. If you have to leave early for some reason, try and stretch at some point later. Don’t blow it off all together.

7.       Hydrating properly – Sometimes I just don’t feel very thirsty during class. Even though you may not feel parched you should drink water continuously through class.  You are already dehydrated when you feel thirsty. You should not allow yourself to get to that point. You don’t have to guzzle your whole bottle, but make sure you sip on some water each track.

 

These tips have helped me become a better Spinner and has made it that much more enjoyable for me. It’s not fun when you feel fatigued and are simply struggling to get through a class.

I hope these tips help you as well.

PS: Photos courtesy of Kent!

This entry was posted in Ride, Spin class, Spinning, working out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

