Healthy alternative to vegetables

Hey Guys:

I wanted an alternative to veggies to go along with my eggs in the morning, but wanted to still keep it healthy. I decided to make a vegetable soup of some sort. I know it’s summer, but our office is super cold so a soup isn’t such a crazy idea.  Sometimes, I even eat my veggies and vegetable soups at room temp.

 

I started out to make a cauliflower and leek soup but I left the bag that had the cauliflower in it at the store. Oops!  So, instead I made a carrot soup because that is what I had at hand. I love the sweet taste of carrots anyway so I was all about it.

 

Here is the recipe for Carrot and Ginger Soup

1 bag of carrots

1 green leek

Fresh ginger (to taste)

1 clove garlic

2 cups of low sodium chicken broth

2% evaporated milk

1.With olive oil and butter in a pan sauté your fresh ginger and garlic until the garlic is browned.

2. Add the leeks and carrots to the pan and cover at medium heat. Sautee until the carrots are soft. I cut them in half lengthwise so they soften up quicker.

3. Add the chicken broth and simmer for about 5 minutes.

4. When you can poke the carrot through with a fork easily you can then throw it all in a blender and puree the vegetables. You may have to do it in batches.

5.When the carrots and leeks are all blended add in the evaporated milk. I used about half the can, but add as much or as little as you’d like.

Salt and pepper your soup to taste. You can throw on a dollop of sour cream if you’d like or toast some pumpkin seeds for a little crunch.

There you have it. An easy, healthy alterative that will add a veggie to your meal plan without breaking the calorie bank.

This entry was posted in recipes, soup, vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

