Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett at Tanglewood

Hey, I hope you all had a happy and safe 4th of July!

 

Let me back up to tell you last week.  I have been wanting to go to Tangle wood for the longest time now. It’s one of those things that is right in your backyard but you never get around to doing. Well, this year I was determined to see an outside concert at Tanglewood.

Back in April I perused Tanglewood’s web-site to see who was coming this summer. I missed Huey Lewis and the News or I so would have gone to that! I by passed Sheryl Crow, but then I saw Lady Gaga and Tony Bennet were coming.  Now that is an interesting duo! I called my friend, Sue, to see if she was interested and it was a go.

 

The seats in the shed were all taken so I debated on lawn seats. What if it rains? I am ordering tickets in April for an end of June concert. For $30.00 we decided to go for it. I read reviews that the lawn is way more fun and it has fewer restrictions.

 

Dan and I had stayed right across from Tanglewood a few years back at the Apple Tree Inn. I knew that’s where I wanted to stay so we could walk to the concert. The Inn has a lodge in the back and for $161 and change I booked a room at the lodge.

Last Tuesday I met Sue and we took off for the beautiful Berkshires at 9:00 am. We had a leisurely ride and arrived at our Inn at 11:30. The room was ready so we checked in and threw our stuff down. . The room was neat and clean, although the lobby smelled a bit musty. The Inn is beautiful but I couldn’t get twin beds when I booked and the lodge was a bit cheaper. I knew we wouldn’t be spending much time in the room so it was perfect for us.

Cassandra, at the front desk was lovely and suggested we head to Lenox to the Haven for lunch. We did so and had a lovely lunch outside. We walked around the town a bit and poked in some stores.

Next up we went to a liquor store that had gourmet foods in it. We wanted some beverages for the concert but we also bought some delicious ciabatta bread, olive tapenade, garlic and cheese spread and salami. I bought some wine and Sue bought Mojitos.

 

The concert was at 8:00 but the gates opened at 5:00. It had been raining, I mean raining, right up until it was time to walk down to the concert. We were armed with our portable chairs, cooler, backpack and umbrella. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to the gates and the lines was already quite long. I was impressed with how quickly we got through the gate and found a spot near the shed.  We were actually quite close to the show and we set up our chairs and settled in for a while.

 

It was sprinkling just a little bit but we opened our beverages and had some food. There was a group of about 6-7 people in front of us and we chatted with them a bit. They told us some history of the place and suggested we walk around a bit.

It was fascinating to see what people brought with them. They had tables and flowers and we even saw 2 candelabras. One hanging from  tree branch! People brought amazing food and really made a whole experience of it.

There is a neat old house on the property that you can go in and beautiful scenery on the grounds.

 

At  8:00 a bell tolled signaling that the show is starting soon. The sun started to set, the stars came out and the show began!

I have to say I do not know much about Lady Gaga or Tony Bennett. I heard her sing the Sound of Music and she was amazing so I know she has a fantastic voice. Tony is beyond my years but he is a legend so I knew this show was not going to disappoint and it didn’t.

We were very close to the shed and we could see them if we stood up, but there was a pole blocking them from our view otherwise. I would up watching them on the screens, but that was ok.

 

I didn’t realize Bennett is 88 years old. I have even more of an appreciation for his talent after learning his age.  He sang his heart out for an hour and 45 minutes. You might think it an odd combination but Lady Gaga and Tony complemented each other well. He was classy and reserved and she was her usual playful self. She had 8 costume changes during the show while he remained in a classic white tux.

It was such an incredible experience to be sitting under the stars, in the pitch dark with thousands of other people watching the show.  Sue made the observation that everyone was really quiet and thoroughly engrossed in the show.

 

2 hours passed quickly and the show was over. Surprisingly, there was no encore.  As soon as the show was over we packed up our belongings and walked back to the Inn. I think we were back within  half hour of the show ending.

We had an absolute blast and I am dying to see another show. The weather held off but I’d love to go back when it was actually nice. The Inn has a gorgeous heated pool that overlooks the mountains that I would have loved to lounge out at.

 

Although we were “virgins” to this, we still had a great experience. Next time we might bring more real food than snacks but all in all we had a wonderful time. I thought I might feel claustrophobic with everyone packed onto the lawn, but we really didn’t. You could sit far back from the stage and have all the space you want and just listen to the music.

I loved Tanglewood and staying at the Apple Tree Inn was the best decision. We didn’t have to drive, we were back at the Inn in minutes and we could have a few drinks and not worry.

I highly recommend you experience Tanglewood once.

Harry Connick, Jr is coming Sept 4th with the Boston Symphony Orchestra. I’d love to see him!

This entry was posted in adventures, concert, girls weekend away, Lady gaga, Tanglewood, Tony Bennett and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett at Tanglewood

  1. Sue says:

    Let’s book it

Leave a Reply

