Black Bean and Corn Salad recipe

Happy Tuesday!

 

Too much fun at the party!

Dan and I went to a 4th of July gathering on Saturday and I LOVED a dish that one of the guests brought.  It was a black bean and corn salad. I am not usually a big fan of black beans but this was delicious. It was light, but filling and had a great zing to it.

I went home on Sunday and was determined to make my own version of it.

Here is what I came up with

 dish of black beans and corn

Black Bean and Corn Salad

2 cans of sweet corn (low sodium)

2 cans of black beans – drained and rinsed

Grape tomatoes sliced

Feta cheese crumbles (optional)

Red onion (optional)

Cilantro to taste

Olive oil (1/4 cup)

Red wine vinegar to taste

Lime juice to taste

 

Combine the first 4 ingredients. Add as many tomatoes and feta cheese as you prefer. I love feta so I added quite a bit.

In a small bowl combine olive oil, red wine vinegar and lime juice to taste. I LOVE lime so I really added a lot of juice. Pour over the salad and mix well.

Chop fresh cilantro (as much as you like) and mix well.

Dan hates red onion so I didn’t add it to mine. Avacado might be delish too.

I have been eating this salad as a side with my protein shake. The beans make it filling and satisfying, but the dressing and cilantro make it light and yummy with a ton of flavor.

This entry was posted in black bean and corn salad, recipe, side dish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

