Whole 30 – Creamy Lemon Chicken and Artichokes

Hey Guys!

After hearing about all these folks doing Whole 30 I decided to give it a go.  I did something similar to it back in March and I did lose weight and felt healthier.

 

This summer due to eating out A LOT and enjoying too many adult beverages I have gained some of that weight back.  I haven’t worked out that consistently either so between eating, drinking and being a slacker I feel I need a cleanse.

I stepped on the scale last night for the first time in months. While I have gained back some weight the number wasn’t as bad as I thought. I forgot to measure myself but I’ll do that tonight so I have a good starting to point.

I went food shopping yesterday to prepare for this 30 day cleanse as I can’t eat:

Dairy

Grains

Legumes

Sugar

Alcohol

Dan almost fell over when my shopping  bill came to $114.00!  But I got a ton of stuff, including meats and I am prepared to succeed!!

Last night I made a  creamy chicken, lemon and artichoke dish.

OMG it was good!

We didn’t plan to have it for dinner but that’s how the night turned out and it was yummy!

It was super lemony, more creamy than I thought and kind of like a stew.  It was not really 90 degree weather food, but it was soooo good.  Next time I might throw in capers and spinach too.  It would be awesome over brown rice or pasta but since grains are out for the next 30 days I will simply eat it as a stew.

Creamy chicken, lemon and artichoke Crock pot recipe:

1.5 pounds of chicken breast

1-2 cans of artichokes

1-2 lemons

Capers- optional

Spinach – optional

1 Cup of chicken broth (low sodium)

½ cup of coconut milk unsweetened

3 Tbsp. of arrow root powder

 

Place the chicken at the bottom of the crockpot and place the artichokes on top.

Whisk together the arrow root powder and the chicken broth. Pour over the chicken and artichokes and add in the coconut milk.

Slice the lemon(s) and place over all the ingredients.

Set your crock pot on High for 4-6 hours and let sit.

I love artichokes and lemons so I added in more than the recipe called for. You can add to your taste. I didn’t add the wine because on Whole 30 you aren’t even supposed to cook with alcohol.

If you want to add in capers or spinach add them about 10 minutes before serving.

My sauce was nice and thick so I didn’t have to add in more thickener. If yours is too thin whisk another Tbsp. of the arrow root powder to a cup of chicken stock and add to the pot. Put the cover back on and let it sit for 15 -20 minutes.

I cut my chicken into small bite size pieces but you can shred it if you prefer.

Enjoy in a bowl or over cauliflower rice

Delish!

This entry was posted in recipe, whole 30 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whole 30 – Creamy Lemon Chicken and Artichokes

  1. Lucy says:

    I started laughing as soon as I saw what the post was about. I don't do bread. Of any kind. Even my husband would agree on this. Then, I read the recime….hmmp, I just might be able to do this one. I can't wait for cooler weather to try all these new recipes (I really am miserable in the heat but I love cooking in cool/cold weather). Thanks very much for this one! Have you ever heard of pan bread? My mom made it and it was delicious….

Leave a Reply

