Girl’s Weekend Away Continued – Golden Stage Inn

Image

Hello, hello:

When Sue and I were looking for places to get away I immediately thought of our friend’s Mike and Julie’s gorgeous Inn, The Golden Stage Inn,  in Proctorsville, VT.

 

Mike & Julie bought the Inn about 4 years ago and it is warm, casual and comfortable just like the owners. The grounds are gorgeous with a pool, sheep, chickens, blueberry bushes and Julie even has bee hives and harvests her own honey! How cool is that to have breakfast in the morning and to have fresh honey to pour on your home made pancakes or to add your tea? I told Julie I don’t like honey but I had hers and it was not like store bought at all. Sue and I both went home with a bottle of fresh honey.

Since I mentioned breakfast we will start with that. The first morning Julie served a mushroom and pepper frittata with sausage and potatoes. OMG. I fell in love with the frittata and even went home and tried to replicate it. Not quite… I am not a big sausage fan but it was crispy and full of flavor. Sue and I had breakfast in our jammies and we had a relaxing, delicious breakfast in their sun porch over looking the back yard. We sat and ate and chatted for about an hour before heading back to our room.

Image

Our room was the Reverend Warren room and it was adorable. It is painted a cheerful yellow and has twin beds. The bathroom was plenty big and Julie supplies Bee Kind products. A portion of the net profits of this product supports honey bee and sustainable pollination research. If you have forgotten anything Julie has a basket with essentials that you can “borrow”.

The beds were super comfortable and we even saw the house keeper ironing the pillow cases! The room was quiet and very cozy. Sue said I snored but I don’t think so…. We spent some time in the room as we really chilled out this weekend and it was plenty enough room for the two of us and felt like home.

Julie makes a soup in the winter and has that ready for guests at about 4:00 on the weekends. Both nights we had just gotten in from eating so we didn’t have any but it smelled delicious. Mike makes his famous chocolate cake on Saturday night and that was outstanding! It really looked professionally made and tasted it as well.

ImageImage

They also have a bottomless cookie jar and I sampled a flourless peanut butter cookie. My favorite kind! It was sooo good it was all I could do not to take another one.

After dinner Sue and I just came back to the Inn and we turned on the gas fire place and soon after the other guests joined us. Mike and Julie came in a little while later and sat and joined in the conversion. We stayed up past our intended bed time but we were having such a good time chatting who wanted to go to bed? Sue changed into her jammies to sit by the fire. Everything is super casual and easy going at the Golden Stage Inn.

The next morning we were served a warm sticky bun and greek yogurt drizzled with honey and chia seeds. I was so excited to try chia seeds as I keep hearing about them. The bun was obviously yummy but I was so surprised how much I liked the yogurt and honey. Not usually a fan but I actually went home and bought all the ingredients and made it for breakfast the next day!

 

Image

 

Next up were home made blueberry pancakes with a side of the most delicious bacon you have ever had. Check this out!

Image

We had such a nice weekend and I couldn’t recommend the Inn more highly. Sue wrote in the guest book that being there is like being with family that you like! Julie made great recommendations on things to do, called and inquired for us and gave her honest opinions.

If you are looking for a homey, comfortable, friendly, fun and relaxing place this is the place for you.

It is centrally located near fun things to do: Something for everyone!

  • Vermont Country Store (Rockingham and Weston)
  • Woodstock/Quechee
  • Manchester
  • Dog sledding
  • Hiking
  • swimming
  • skiing

Sue and I both hated to leave on Sunday. Sue was even making plans to come back with her husband in June.

The Golden Stage Inn is right up my alley for places to stay and Mike and Julie make their home your home while you are there.

Web-site: http://www.goldenstageinn.com/

Phone: (802) 226-7744

 

 

 

This entry was posted in friends, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Girl’s Weekend Away Continued – Golden Stage Inn

  1. Kent says:

    Wow… that looks like an amazing place to visit.. I stayed at a B and B in Cooperstown, New York many years ago and was impressed by the ‘hominess’ of the experience…

  2. karenmregan says:

    It was nice that I knew the owners but most Inn keepers are very hospitable.

Leave a comment